Sanding and polishing Acrylic

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

danf

Hi all

I am new to turning pens and have just tried my first one in acrylic. Pen turned out OK but I have no experience with sanding or polishing of this material. Can anyone point me to a source that can give me some advice in this field. I have been reading many,many posts here and want to thank you all for the very helpful hints etc. There does not seem to be the large following for pen turning in Australia as in US or I just haven't found it yet. Any help would be appreciated and thanks in advance.

Dan F

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Rick Prevett

Dan, I've only turned one acrylic pen, but got a real good finish off it. The secrect I learned was wet sanding. Once your ready, just wet your paper (I used water and 220 grit I think)and sand with the lathe on at a slow speed. Get a slurry going and then wipe clean between grits. I went up through 3200 (MicroMesh) this way. A little Ren wax after that and that stuff shined!

Some folks will go further and use an automotive scratch removal paste or EEE?

rick

rkerns

In my opinion this plastic sanding kit is the only way to fly! Use them wet for plastics, and dry for stabilized woods. http://www.woodturnerscatalog.com/cgi-bin/shopper?preadd=action&key=084-1000
The reasons being that they are so easy to use, they work great, and last a long time. 75% of the pens I make now are acrylic acetate. As you get better at finishing up your barrels with the skew, you will find that you only use a couple of the finer pads. I follow up with Novus scratch remover and polish.

cheers,
Rick

G

I just use micro mesh after sanding up to 320.
You can use it wet or dry.
I follow up with a good quality wax.
The pen on the left is crushed velvet acrylic.That is how I polished that pen.
http://www.penturners.org/oldalbums/Eaglesc/turnersjewler1%20004.jpg
I also do Corian that way.

pen-turners

OK,