Sand Paper

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

rebfan04

Hey another question for you guys. Ive used a couple brands of sandpaper rolls to do finish work. Is there a difference in quality of sandpaper rolls. I've prob. not done enough to be able to tell yet. I picked some up at HF and not sure its good quality. What do yall use and where to buy?

Thanks, you guys always give good advice!
Roger

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

ToddMR

I just use the one from Woodcraft with all the grits. It is the only ones I have experience with. Although as my skills have improved very rarely do I use the 150 grits anymore. My buddy suggested I cut those strips in 1/2 which I did and have them in a bag. I have a whole mess of it I rarely grab for now lol.

I use P grade wet dry sand paper, I have been doing this for many years, P grade has a more consistent size in the abrasive grain that the CAMI grade, I made my choice to use P after speaking with a man who is in the custom automotive paint world and has a wall full of trophies for his paint quality

Attachments

• abrasive_grading.jpg
    abrasive_grading.jpg
    47 KB · Views: 157
Last edited:

monophoto

A friend alerted me to this. It's all high-quality German-made, P grade stuff, and the price is pretty good.

You don't get to specify what is in the box - it's whatever they have as roll ends on the day your box is packed. In my case, I got a selection starting at P180 and running to P800. The only negative is that because it's left-overs, the selection is inconsistent. For example, some of mine is on a very heavy, extremely stiff fabric backing that is harder to use if the turning has lots of small detail. Another example - in one instance, it is so obviously a roll end that only half of the width is actually coated with abrasive. But these are not major issues and I can live with them.

Canadian_Kid