Same Kit, Different Vendor, ?!?!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

greenchicken

I have been turning pens for many years now and one of the most frustrating issues for me is the various vendors to buy kits from.

For example: Wood N Whimsey has a nice Cigar pen for $3.55. Pen State sell the Cigar pen for $7.95. Then you get Craft Supply that has two Cigars: one for $4.75 and on for $6.90.

Then there is the whole Monet Vs Serra vs Sienna
Or the Trident vs the Patriot vs Polaris

How many people are actually making these kits? What is the differences?

What do you use?

BTW:

It would be awesome if some wrote up a spread sheet of all the kits with their corresponding bits sizes and bushing.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

SCR0LL3R

I was just noticing today the huge difference between the quality that I have found in one such example.

I think it's something you are going to have to evaluate on a case-by-case basis. A lot of the styles we use are made by Berea or Dayacom which usually tend to be the more expensive versions. Most of these styles are cloned by other manufacturers as well. Even these two companies make some same styles.

So far I find the price tends to reflect the quality but that's not really something you can count on either.

Bigj51

I tend to like all of the kits that Berea makes. I generally order the Titanium or Platinum plated kits for durability. Yes, It costs quite a bit more but that just means I have to be more careful and not waste any of them. I love the Cigar kits but only get the from Beartooth Woods or Arizona Silhouette. Penn State has hosed me way to many times. The only Penn State kit that I really like is the Vertex and I get that one locally from a lumber company.

greenchicken

Fantastic Spread Sheets. QUESTION. On the one by wracinowski he list that both the Apprentice Cigar and the Artisan Cigar from Wood Craft use the same diameter bushing BUT they are different bushing serial #.

The Penguin