Sage advise wanted

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

rhahnfl

I'm new to pen making but have learned a lot just reading these threads. I see that a few woods are very difficult to work and even if you do everything correctly that they may crack/split later. Has anyone ever compiled a list of what works and doesn't work so well? I think I may start a notebook or journal of this.

I know one bit of advise came too late...run while you can!!! :D

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

ed4copies

Local Chapter Manager
Ebony, pink ivory, snakewood.

That's MY short list for cracking.

Difficult to work is a MUCH longer list and gets shorter as you become more experienced. Start with ANY cross-grain. More ideas will come from others.

DCBluesman

Passed Away Mar 3, 2016
In Memoriam
Starting a list? I'd suggest that you don't start with other people's experience. Each of us has a slighly different way of turning or finishing or whatever. That will impact the results. Be aware of what you are working with if you happen to run across good advice, but learn from experience rather than what you read. Me? I'm 18 for 18 with snakewood. Nary a crack. Knock on (snake)wood!

Dario

Originally posted by DCBluesman
<br />Starting a list? I'd suggest that you don't start with other people's experience. Each of us has a slighly different way of turning or finishing or whatever. That will impact the results. Be aware of what you are working with if you happen to run across good advice, but learn from experience rather than what you read. Me? I'm 18 for 18 with snakewood. Nary a crack. Knock on (snake)wood!

Lou,

I am 2 for 2 on snakewood...both cracked while drilling [B)]...so up to now I have no snakewood pen to boast for yet [:eek:)]. Maybe it is because the blanks I used have cracks to begin with and they are much thinner than my usual blanks.