Safety question regarding acrylic fumes

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Rob77

I'm in the process of turning some acrylic blanks. I've noticed that these blanks put off a very strong smell when I turn them. I've set up a strong fan and I think my air circulation is sufficient. Is that enough?

I'm assuming the textbook answer is that I need a dust collection system but I'm only a part-time hobbyist and I only make maybe a pen or two every other month (and I'm on a bit of a budget).

Thanks for any advice you can provide.

TonyL

Sadly, I am only doing this 4 weeks and about 3 weeks ago, I stopped noticing the smell. I own a dual vapor mask, but my glasses and goggles fog-up when I wear the mask. The same thing happens to me when I wear the light, white masks. I am going to wear it from now on though.

Jim Smith

I'm pretty sure that my sense of smell is about as bad as my hearing, but that said, I always wear a Trend powered face shield when I am turning. The face shield is for protection from projectiles and the filtered ventilation was reduce the amount of dust and fumes that I inhale while turning. It has made a very big difference for me, especially when turning some of the woods like HRB that are more likely to irritate skin and nasal passages. In my experience, the filtered face shield was well worth the investment.

TonyL, The ventilation fans on the powered shields keep your glasses from fogging up.

Jim Smith

Last edited:

ashaw

For the most part my dust collector extracts all fumes and dust. The only are is my chop saw. When I get a new shop all my tools will have dust collection ports.

TonyL

I will get one immediatlely.