Rockler Slimline Issue?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Gagler

As an accountant, I believe in statistics.

Now that I have that bs statement out of the way, are any of you having any issues with the Rockler slimline pens? They are on sale, so I picked up a dozen or so earlier this week to turn some for the Freedom Pens project (they are out of pens again, by the way - a function of declining participation but steady to increased demand). The first four, when applying the clip / cap are too loose and won't fit into the tube - and hence require a good dallop of thick CA.

I don't see how it could be operator error (e.g., me) as my skew would have no impact on increasing the size of the pen tube during the manufacturing process. I've already glued up the tubes for 6 more pens to do this weekend, but since I'm 3 for 3 so far I was curious if anyone else has the same issue.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

SherryD

I do not use 24K, nothing less than 10K and I use CS as my source and have not had any problems. I hear all the time that the 24k is hit and miss. Low price should not mean low quality though. The lower price should only reflect the lower cost of plating not a cheap mechanism. Just my 2 1/2 cents worth. I do not think it is operator error at all.

davinci27

I've had this with a couple of slimline kits as well. An the kits were from various sources. I think it's just a problem with the kits.

Ben

zig613

I have noticed this and several other quality control issues on the 24k gold slimlines made in China. However, since I switched over to the titanium gold slimlines made in Taiwan about a 1 year ago, I haven't had any such problems with the 50-60 kits that I have made. The titanium kits may cost twice as much but the plating is much more durable and the quality control of kits coming from Taiwan appear to be better… well worth the extra cost.

Brandon25