Robusto Pen trouble

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

log2lumber

Hello,

I have made 100's of pens and yet the only problem I have is the cap for the Robusto from Woodcraft. The band always has a gap and the cap does not press in all the way.

I have no problem with the body of the pen.

Any suggestions?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

hrigg

I haven't noticed those problems, but it's been a couple of months since I've made a Robusto. Next time I make one, I'll be sure to look for them.

RHunter

Local Chapter Leader
Hello,

I have made 100's of pens and yet the only problem I have is the cap for the Robusto from Woodcraft. The band always has a gap and the cap does not press in all the way.

I've made about a dozen Robusto's (El Presidente from AS), so I'm no expert mind you...

I have had better results if you finish your cap body, and then cut the tenon for the cap. I was doing the cutting then the finishing, and found I had been rounding off the edge leaving a gap... or filling the tenon with CA that I would have to scrape off before I pressed (assuming I remembered to scrape off before I pressed, and when I didn't, crooked cap or crushed tube AAARRRGGGHHHH! :mad: )

Also, you REALLY need to measure for the tenon carefully!

Too little and you can't get the cap on all the way, and the body won't screw into the cap as far as it should if at all.

Too much and you get a gap.

If my memory works right, it works out to an 1/8"- so I am thinking of ordering an 1/8" parting tool for it- mine is 3/16" so it is too big, and I've tried to use my skew as a parting tool with somewhat medocre results...

I love the feel and look of these pens, and I enjoy making them (frustration included even) so I am trying to specialize in these as much as I can, and with 20% the kit from Woodcraft....it beats AS prices...

Good luck!

-Doug

GouletPens