Revolving center

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

TXTurner

Hi all,

I'm completely new at this, so please pardon what may be some stupid questions.

I've made a couple slimline pens on my Jet 1236 using the existing tailstock center, which I believe is a live cone center. I could be wrong, as I've got lots to learn.

Some of the pen kits I'll want to tackle as I move along call for a revolving 60 degree center. I see where I can buy this from a number of different sources.

My question is whether or why it's necessary. Can I not turn these pens with the existing live center?

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks,

Mark

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Rifleman1776

The cup centers are less than desirable for a couple reasons. One is the point may not be 60 degrees. That is the standardized angle for the female (tailstock) end of the mandrel. You could, and probably will get wiggle, vibration and resulting less than perfectly round results. The other big reason is the woodworking cup tip is (usually, e.g. 99% of the time) not hardened steel and will wear out in short order. Meaning, either way, you will have to buy a new center or two.
Do get a machinist type live center and make sure it is hardened steel. The difference in price is about $20.00 compared to $10.00 for soft.

Gentleben

The 60 degree cent is very usefull if you use you tailstock at all. It allows you to work on the tail end father in without catching your tool. Most turners I know use them all of the time. It is almost a almost a requirement if you are going to bring your tailstock up to hold a brass tube.

Russianwolf

not sure what your center looks like, but the one that came with both my PSI and Grizzly lathes has a point in the middle and a circle a little further out. The point is not 60 degrees.