Reverse painting pen blank video

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

MesquiteMan

Retired Head Moderator
Here is a video I recently made showing how I paint the inside of a blank to hide the glue. Beware, I am not a video expert so please don't make fun of my videography!! BTW, comments or criticism of the video itself would be appreciated so I can get better. I plan to do a number of videos on penmaking subjects that I will share here and on my website.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bnVaA1Ppa14

bruce119

Good video I guess after that feasco you had painting the inside of all those cactus blanks you are the expert. BTW is that some of those cactus blanks in the background.

Good video I just spray paint but mite give that a try a little less messy. Do you paint your tubes also.

Great video

Thanks

mredburn

IAP Activities Manager
Staff member
Not to bad at all, and you only used "um" once and "uh" twice, you wouldnt believe how much that kind of thing distracts from the end product when used excessivly. Over all its done well. My .02 Mike

MesquiteMan

Retired Head Moderator
Good video I guess after that feasco you had painting the inside of all those cactus blanks you are the expert. BTW is that some of those cactus blanks in the background.

Good video I just spray paint but mite give that a try a little less messy. Do you paint your tubes also.

Great video

Thanks

Bruce,

There is no need to paint the tube if you get a good coat on the inside of the blank. Spray paint is ok but most spray paints are not made for plastic unless you use plastic spray paint! Also, spray paint is thinner than the stuff I use and I have had too many times where I could still see through it on a clear blank. I guess I am a little bit of a perfectionist and I don't want to even see a hint of the tube or glue voids.

Hi