Request for Instructions

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

Edward Miller

I have pretty much been a lurker on this forum and would like to learn how to turn pens. I will be in the Cleveland/Lorain County area of Ohio for a few weeks beginning July 22nd and was hoping that one of the turners in that area would show me how to turn a couple of pens. I have been a woodworker for several years but, no turning experience. I will buy the materials and pay a reasonable fee for your intruction and use of your equipment. If anyone is interested please email me at millere35@hotmail.com to let me know where you are located and what you would charge for your time.
Thank You,
Ed Miller

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

JimGo

Ed,
We've got a lot of great people here, and at least a few in Ohio, if I remember correctly. If, however, you are unable to find someone who is willing to take you upon your offer, you might consider purcasing Bill Baumbeck's video (http://www.arizonasilhouette.com ) or Penn State Industries' video. Both are very handy.

The PSI video is relatively short (30 minutes, I think) and gives you a good overview of the penmaking process. I got this for free with my first purchase from PSI, and it was helpful for a complete woodworking novice like myself.

Bill's is about 2-2.5 hours, and goes into the process in a lot more detail. I had made a handful of pens when I talked to Bill and found out about his video, and I learned a LOT from his video.

Good luck, and we look forward to seeing your work!

Old Griz

Passed Away Oct 4, 2013
In Memoriam
MMMM sounds like a good excuse for an Ohio Penfest to me.... I know they got cows there...[:p][:p]
and if you give him enough notice, I am sure Thumbs will ride his out...[}:)]

Czarcastic

Edward:
Welcome.