Removing Wax on Blanks

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

tdj

Hello everyone,

I'm completely new to the world of penturning, so I apologize for such an "easy" question; I found some sparse data on this by searching, but your up-to-date advice would be appreciated.

I recently purchased blanks completely encased in wax and there's no indication of how dry the underlying wood is (all they could say is that they've had it in their warehouse for a year).

What is the best way to proceed? I've read that I should remove the wax on the sides (but not the ends) of the blank (?with razor blade?). Then I should ... ?wrap it in paper bags? ?put it in a bucket of sawdust? Or maybe I should just remove ALL the wax, soak it in DNA, and then proceed to dry it in paper bags?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

randyrls

I recently purchased blanks completely encased in wax and there's no indication of how dry the underlying wood is (all they could say is that they've had it in their warehouse for a year).

What is the best way to proceed?

TDJ; If the source of your blanks is a pen supplies place, and you got already cut up blanks, they are normally ready to go.

Where did you get the wood, and what kind is it?

Check for a local lumber yard that handles exotic lumber. Make friends with the people there. A few gift pens wouldn't hurt. The local lumber yard here will sell me off-cuts at a discount.

If you aren't comfortable with the blanks, cut the wax off the sides with a paint scraper and put in a paper bag.

There are several methods for drying wood. Check the Library index for "Drying Wood".

PS. Your profile is a little skimpy.....

marcruby

I just turn wax off. If the wood is too wet I hit it with armorseal. Pen blanks aren't going to stay wey for very long.

Now I would really like to see a film of someone burn it off with a blow torch and discover that most waxes burn when heated enough. I wonder if you could get the blank to explode?

Marc

NewLondon88