Refills... in general

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

sbarton22

I just read another thread on refills. Now, obviously, I am a rookie, but I have to admit that I didn't understand much, if anything, in that thread.

I had previously read a post about using different refills than the kit supplies, so I'm slightly aware that it is a practice.

I can assume that in a $3 slimline kit, the refill probably isn't the best.What I don't really get is when or why replace the refill?

Is there a price point when you think that this price pen deserves a better refill?

Do you do it on every pen? I have to assume you roll the price of the refill into the cost of the pen. Does that make some of the lower tier pens just too expensive? Or, if your practice is to replace them on every pen, you just don't bother making less expensive pens?

Do your customers know or care? Is there a price point where they do know or care?

Are we selling the bodies, the way the ink flows, or the whole experience?

I'm just starting, and I can't afford to create any kind of stock with $30 kits and $30 blanks. I need to start off with a stock of lower priced pens and few big boys. There is a lot to learn, and I don't quite understand the logic on this one.

Any help here would be great. Thanks

scott

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

seamus7227