Red Jasper Issues found

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

ashaw

I have been using Red Jasper TruStone for many years now. Up until recently this was a very easy blank to work with. In another thread I spoke about the issues I have been having. This week I received three new blanks very a new batch. The issues are still occurring.

1. Heat is not your friend. You will not see the cracks until the blank is turned down.
2. Large diameter holes must be drilled with at least 2 to 3 smaller to large bits until the final diameter hole is drilled. Again just like 1 you will be seeing the cracks until turned.
3. No longitudinal pressure. When on a mandrel or pressure fitting the hardware. It will crack.

1 and 2 seems like a random process, sometimes they occur sometimes not. Just go slow and use water when drilling to keep the heat down.
3. I went tubless and epoxy the hardware in.

After four attempts only one worked. That is a 75% failure rate.

This is a poor failure rate from a product that is beautiful when polished and finished. I will be talking to them tomorrow with my results. As a result and only until Red Jespar is dependable again I can not use this color. Right now I am working with Jonathon to see if he can up with an alterative.

So far I have not been having the same issue with the other colors of true stone.

The cracks show up as a white line with in the material and are not fixable since they go through the whole blank. Will try and a get some pictures up.

Alan

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Rangertrek

Thanks for the info Alan. I just finished up tow pens in red jasper and did not experience any of those issues. Both were magnetic graduates, long barrel to drill, done with only one bit. Did not see any cracks. Maybe I was fortunate. These were apparently new since I had just ordered them for a client.

PMisiaszek