Questions from a newbie

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

monophoto

Another newbie here. I just started penturning a few weeks ago - so far, I've successfully made several 7mm slimeline BPs. Yeah - there's one that I'm not showing anyone but that's how we learn. Yesterday, I made my first FP using the Craft Supplies Artisan kit that uses a 10mm bore and tubes..

Some questions:

I had a 7mm barrel trimmer, and bought the 10mm shaft offered by CS. The first problem I encountered was that the barrel trimmer seriously gouged the inside of the tube. I didn't have this problem with 7mm kits.

After thinking about it overnight, this morning I did a couple of checks. First, I tried slipping the barrel trimmer into an unmounted tube. No problem - it slipped in just like I expected that it should. But when I tried slipping it into a tube that was glued into a blank, I found that it would bind.

Then, I measured the tube. The OD of a naked tube measured exactly 3/8" - about 9.6mm, not 10mm. Is this correct? The ID is 9mm - about 11/32".

I've been using PU to glue tubes into blanks. My reasons are that it is less expensive than CA, and less hassle than epoxy, and the fact that it expands when it cures leads me to conclude that it does a better job of securing the tube inside the blank. I apply a small amount of glue inside each end of the bore, and then use a cotton swab to smear it around. Then I apply a small amount of glue on the tube itself before slipping the tube inside the bore with a twisting motion. Inserting the tube doesn't displace very much glue, but I'm sure I'm using too much based on the amount that oozes out as it cures. Is it possible that using too much PU glue could deform a mounted tube such that the barrel trimmer binds and gouges the inside of the tube when I later trim the ends?