Question re Dogs and Antlers

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

deeceedub

I'm new to the lathe and to pen turning, so please be patient if I ask silly questions. :embarrassed:

I have to canine " shop foremen" who are constantly at my feet in the shop. Roscoe is a chocolate Lab and Eddie is a rough-coated Jack Russell Terrier.

We work a lot with antlers. The Lab waits under the drill press and gobbles up the flute drillings like it's bacon, then sits impatiently hoping my husband will drill through the side of the blank (instant chew toy instead of pen). Does anyone else have dogs who do this? Is it okay for him to eat/chew antler?

The JRT, who has never had a sick day in his eight years, suddenly has watery, runny eyes. Can dogs be allergic to antler dust? The humans wear masks, of course, but the dogs can't be convinced to take such precautions. So far the antlers we've been working with are very old ones (~15 years).

I'd hate to kick them out of the shop. They love being out there with me and they don't mind the lathe since it's so much quieter than most of the power tools we use.

Attachments

• IMG_0859.jpg
    IMG_0859.jpg
    327.6 KB · Views: 146
  • IMG_1486.jpg
    IMG_1486.jpg
    196.1 KB · Views: 153
  • IMG_0815.jpg
    IMG_0815.jpg
    281.1 KB · Views: 139
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jcm71

At the agility dog trials my wife and I frequently attend, vendors always have antler on hand for sale. Dogs love them. I would guess, however, that antler dust would be just as harmful to a dog's lungs as it is to humans. My recommendation would be to keep them out of the shop when working with antler.

Terredax

Banned
Absolutely, antler dust, just like any other dust, can be an irritant to us as well as dogs. They are much more sensitive to their surroundings, than we are.