Question:Between centers with Shopsmith

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

navycop

I caught the between centers bug. I have the Lathe drive Center (A) and the Lathe Cup Center (B). But the drive center mounts on the headstock and the cup center on tailstock. I need to find a way to mount a dead center to the headstock. I have a 60 degree live center that I have been using with my mandrel...

Attachments

• LatheCenters.jpg
    LatheCenters.jpg
    13.6 KB · Views: 597
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Culprit

Mike,

We just had this discussion over on the Shopsmith forums a few days ago because I'm in the same boat you are.

The bottom line is that there are no commercially available dead centers/cone drives for the SS quill. There are people with metal lathes and CNC lathes who will make/sell them to you.

Perhaps the easiest solution which we discussed was to use a collet chuck, router chuck, or the screw drive (D in your picture) to make your own dead center/cone drive. A few guys said they have had great success with this. If you use hard maple, for example, the brass tube will eventually mar the wood, and you'll have to re-surface the cone drive after a number of pens, but that's not difficult to do.

jcm71

Mike,
Go down to Lowes, HD or Ace and buy a 1/2" by 6" HSS bolt. Cut off the threads and then start grinding. Your dead center does not have to be an exact 60 degrees. Then mount it in your router chuck, and there you go. I have been using mine for nearly a year now with no problems. Here's a couple of pictures. Notice in the 2nd one that I flattened one side of the shaft so the hex screws will hold better.

IMG_0339.jpg

IMG_0340.jpg

IMG_0341.jpg

Good luck.

John

Snowbeast

Mike,

Here's a couple of things I've tried so far.

The first one is just a piece of mesquite with a 5/8" hole drilled for the drive shaft and a set screw. This worked for a while but the pressure from the set screw split the wood.:mad: