Question about Woodcraft kits

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

samuel07

Hello All
I am new to the world of pen turning (turned my first three pens this weekend) and I have a question about the quality of kits from Woodcraft.
I got started in pen turning for the fun and also the purpose of raising money for our next adoption so I wanted to know if the kits that I can purchase from Woodcraft are quality enough to command a decent price ($30 to $40 depending on the wood and finish) or should I think about purchasing kits elsewhere. Any Recommendations for specific Woodcraft kits? All I have right now is tools for 7mm.

The reason I'm asking is that the Woodcraft store is right around the corner from my house and it is so easy just to pop in and get what I need.

Thanks

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

ed4copies

Local Chapter Manager
Wayne,

Welcome to IAP!!!

The only problem with Woodcraft is their pricing and that is mainly true if you plan on buying a lot of kits.

Making pens to sell merely demands that you KNOW what you are selling and you tell the customer the truth. Titanium nitrate is permanent, all other gold is not, but then people buy a lot of 14kt gold jewelry, seemingly without worrying about it being less than lifetime.

Do a couple searches on this site about platings, you will learn a lot more than I knew when I started. Then, decide how much money you are going to invest before starting to sell-this will determine if you should order on-line (adding freight) or just get started, then order in larger quantities later.