Question about tools and body parts.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

meganzski1987

I'm new to wood turning. I have already made a stool cause I'm to short for my husbands work bench. Well besides being verically challenged I'm well say developed in the chest department. Normally this isn't a problem except I have trouble turning because the tool handle will hit my chest. Any ideas how to over come this "problem"?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

plantman

Magan: Have your husband buy you a metal mini lathe. All you have to do is turn the wheel. If you need lathe tools, you buy the mini tools. About half the size of regular tools, and they work quite well for pen turning. Or, as a last resort, you have your husband hold the offending parts out of the way while you turn. Jim S

skiprat

Passed Away Mar 22, 2022
In Memoriam
I could come back with all sorts of smart arse answers but actually I think you may just need a higher stool to stand on.
However, I would get hubby ( or yourself )to make a 'platform' rather than a stool / step. This will give you a little movement so you can change positions while you turn.
For me ( and I think most others ) the end of the tool handle would be most comfortable if below the ribs.
Do you stand or sit while at the lathe?

Edit in; I would most definetley not shorten the tool handles. They are long for a reason and shortening could be dangerous, especially for a smaller person

Last edited:

Katya

Hi Megan! Welcome to the forum. You have a good question here. I'm on the short side too, and I've found that being at the correct height for the lathe makes a huge difference.