Question about mini lathes.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Jason Irwin

Greetings,

I'm new to both the forum and pen turning. I'm glad to have found this place!

I am thinking of purchasing this http://www.pennstateind.com/store/TCLC10VS-B.html

Does any have any experience with this company?

I have also been reading a lot about both Delta and Jet Mini Lathes. So, I'm confused what to purchase now.

If someone suggests to go with Delta or Jet, what model number? My budget is about $500.00 right now.

Thanks!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

NewLondon88

Local Chapter Leader
PSI is pretty well known here, they carry a lot of kits people use.
I don't know that I'd go for a package, as they always seem to
include things I don't want (and don't want to pay for) so the
'discount' really isn't a discount at all. The prices they compare to
are prices most of us wouldn't pay anyway.. so the savings are
really smoke and mirrors when it comes to packages.
But I know several people here have that lathe and do fine with it.
Personally, I'd rather have the Jet or Delta, and I have no problem
with used equipment. Not that much can go wrong with a lathe
that you can't see before you buy it, or that you can't fix for short
money. (otherwise, don't buy it!) You can find used lathes on most
forums, CraigsList, Ebay etc. They're out there.

jimship15

I am very happy with my Jet, sorry I don't know the model #. You have to change the speed by moving the belt which is not that big of a deal if you are only doing pens. I now have a larger lathe for other than pens.

monophoto

The December 2010 issue of Fine Woodworking had a review of benchtop lathes. They rated the 12" Turncrafter Commander as "Best Buy". The model in this package is 10".