Question about Damascus Steel Blank?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

wizard

I have off today so wanted to make a pen. I have a piece of real Damascus steel that was a gift from Dawn that I wanted to use on a set of
Black Titanium and Rhodium Emperor components. I've never worked with real Damascus before so any advice would be appreciated. The question I was most interested in asking is whether or not to use brass tubes? Thanks in advance..Doc:)

Last edited:
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

BRobbins629

Passed Away Dec 28, 2021
In Memoriam
No tubes needed, but you will have to get some etching solution to bring out the pattern after turned. Be very patient. I use a 25-50% solution of circuit board etchant from Radio shack.

wizard

No tubes needed, but you will have to get some etching solution to bring out the pattern after turned. Be very patient. I use a 25-50% solution of circuit board etchant from Radio shack.

Bruce,
Thanks so much! Do you just soak the turned blanks in etchant? If so, how long do you leave....or do you just wipe on..

Ed McDonnell

Hi Doc - Are you planning on using press fit commercial components? If so, do you have the right sized drills / reamers to get the size hole you need for the press fit? If yes, then you don't need the brass tubes. If no, can you get a hole size close enough for a non-sloppy fit? If yes, then you don't need the brass tubes and you can epoxy the components.

If you don't have the tooling to support a direct press fit (or even a close enough fit to use epoxy) with commercial components, then gluing in the brass tubes will work. I prefer using a glue with some flex (urethane or rtv). You don't need to use the entire tube. Just enough to accommodate the fittings. Whatever is easier for you.

If you are making your own components (finials, couplers...) then you don't need the brass tubes. You can either machine to press fit or use threaded connections (my preference).