Question about CA finish.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Dutra

I have been making pens for a few months now and have just been using a friction polish. I have been reading into CA finish and get the basics of it but had a question, some people sand between coats and other don't, is one way better? It seems like sanding between coats would take longer, especially if there are 10 or more coats ( Seems like 3-6 is the usual amount of coats but I have heard of 25+).

Well thats about it, any other tips are welcome as well...

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Leviblue

Local Chapter Leader
It all comes down to preference. Some get a better result sanding between coats others lay it to it and keep on adding coats.
You just need to try a method that works for you.

jcm71

It all comes down to preference. Some get a better result sanding between coats others lay it to it and keep on adding coats.
You just need to try a method that works for you.

Concur with above. Other members here have said that there are about as many ways to apply a CA fininsh as there are members (or stars in the sky for that matter). Some use thick, others medium and yet others thin CA. Some use BLO and others don't. Some use an activator and others don't. It all comes down to individual preference and what works for you. The only two constants I can think of is use ventilation, and keep your acetone handy. Good luck.

76winger

I don't sand between coats unless the surface starts getting irregular and I need to smooth it out. This happened a lot when I first started applying CA finishes, but I haven't needed to do so for a while now.

Also, on the really smooth, hard woods I usually just stick with the friction polish for a more natural finish. As you'll see with other replies though, everyone does it a little bit differently.

kovalcik