Quality of pen kits

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

anna

Hi,

I'm totally new at pen turning (or any woodturning for that matter). For practice, I ordered a bunch of pen kits online. Now I'm wondering what the difference is between the slimline kits that are ~$2 each and the more expensive slimlines from, say, CSUSA. I would like to make pens for Christmas presents and I don't want the mechanisms or plating going bad. I don't want to spend a fortune either if there isn't any substantial difference between the "cheaper" versions and the more expensive stuff. So, what would be a reasonable kit for presents or sales (eventually)?

Thanks for any help.

Anna

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

PenWorks

Anna, most companies ussually show the wear factors of the platings someplace in the catalog or web site. 24K, 10K wear easily. Stick with Chrome, platinum and gold Ti for longer lasting finishes.

anna

Hey, Anthony,

So it doesn't really matter which vendor I get it from as long as it's not the gold plated versions? I bought the Chrome kits mostly, and some satin-finish kits (I've previously read enough to avoid the 10K and 24K kits). Does it matter that it's "Made in Taiwan?"

Anna

Tea Clipper

Anna, they are all "made in Taiwan", more or less. The top three kit mfgs are Craft Supply, Berea, and PSI. Of those, there are many resellers for Berea and PSI (CS doesn't have any). "You get what you pay for" rings true, however asking what is acceptable will bring you just as many answers and answerers. Good luck! [;)]

anna