Quality Internals

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

dash2358

I've been turning pens for the last 4 years and the common theme with the kits I get from any supplier is the internal mechanisms break or wear out very quickly. Is there any supplier that provides better quality mechanisms? Thank you for the insight!

-Dan

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jttheclockman

Welcome to the site Dan.

The question you asked will not be answered to any degree of accuracy. You will get opinions. But lets start with what kits are you using now that have given you trouble??? Also what internals are you talking about??? Is it the transmissions, click mechanism, refills, springs or etc. ???

KenV

I've been turning pens for the last 4 years and the common theme with the kits I get from any supplier is the internal mechanisms break or wear out very quickly. Is there any supplier that provides better quality mechanisms? Thank you for the insight!

-Dan

Dan, welcome.

Your experience has not been the same as mine. At least since I quit purchasing the very cheapest of kits, especially bottom end cross refill pens.

Some have been exceptionally bullet proof, such as double twist cigar pens in the titanium finishes ( and chrome too).

So what have you been having problems with?

dash2358

Gents, thanks for the replies.

I purchased from a variety of sites when I first got started and then locked in on purchasing through Penn State Industries as I grew accustomed to the new terminology associated with penturning and felt like I knew what to expect when I purchased new products.