PSI turncrafter tailstock issues

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Jeremymc98

I am a rookie at turning and when I first received my turncrafter and noticed the tail stock wiggle I didn't know it could cause issues.

My questions is:
The tailstock can wiggle almost 1/8" along the axis of the lathe bed. It locks in tight but at times when drilling blanks it causes alignment issues. Does anyone know 1. If there is a way to adjust out the slop. 2. How do I do it if possible.

Thanks in advance. Everyone here is always tremendously helpful

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Dalecamino

Local Chapter Leader
If you will slide the tail stock off the end of the bed, I believe you can tighten the bolt on the bottom of the plate that snugs up against the ways when you turn the cam lock lever. You may have to try a few times to get it where it holds tight. I've only had mine off one time.

Last edited:

monophoto

As Chuck noted, you can tighten the nut on the bolt that fastens the tailstock to the bedways. And you need to figure out to do that because it does loosen over time, and you will need to periodically retighten that nut (as well as the similar nut that locks the banjo in place.)

But that said, the problem is more likely to be that a flaw that is commonly reported with this lathe is that the Turncrafter tailstock is sloppy. There is a rectangular protrusion on the bottom of the tailstock that fits between the bedways that is supposed to align the tailstock to the bedways. Unfortunately, it appears that it is often too narrow, and as a result, the tailstock has a slight wobble around a vertical axis until it is locked locked down, and that slight wobble means that it can be locked down with the tailstock slightly out of alignment with the tailstock. Short of shimming the sides of that protrusion (and I don't have a clue how I could do that), there doesn't appear to be a solution.