PSI Trimline/Comfort Center band fit

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jimpenna

Hi Folks,
I have been doing this now for about 10 months now and loving it!

I still seem to be having an issue with Center Bands fitting on my Trimline/Slimline/Comfort kits. These are really nice in my opinion and I am totally jealous when I see what a lot of the folks can do with them! I have just started using calipers, I am using a squaring jig by PSI(https://www.pennstateind.com/store/PKLSQJIG.html) that fits on the headstock of my lathe (Turcrafter Commander) that seems to get my tubed blanks square, as well as a barrel trimmer on the ends before assembling. Yet, I still see minute gaps at the CB when I use one or when I omit the CB and just put the pen together without it. Some woods look better without the CB in my opinion. I just can't seem to figure out where I am going wrong. Need to do some more research on custom CB's but don't think I am ready for that yet. It seems no matter how much I use the pen mill on the ends, they just don't get to a "perfect fit" meaning no gaps. Any help would be most appreciated!!!!

Regards,
John

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

magpens

I would strongly suggest that you do your end-squaring on the lathe by gripping your blank in a head stock chuck and using a spindle gouge to cut.

Woodchipper

I use a drill press for squaring. I have a drill vise set up that is on the DP about 90% of the time. I set the blank against the bit and then secure it in the vise.
Tried to find a photo of the setup. :frown:

PenPal

Hi Folks,
I have been doing this now for about 10 months now and loving it!