PSI Lathe Issue

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

DJ2759

Good Morning,

I'm new to pen turning, 3 months, and have learned much from postings here. I have many questions but have a bigger issue at the moment I need help with. I have a PSI variable speed lathe that won't stay at a constant speed. Regardless of the speed, slow or fast, it will fluctuate. I tried several troubleshooting suggestions I found here but nothing has worked. I pulled it off the extension cord and I tried starting it with the speed turned all the way down. I know it's not anything in the head stock because I ran the motor with the belt off and the speed still fluctuates.

It's on a 20amp circuit which I think is enough, it runs my table saw with no problems.

Any suggestions?

Dale J.
F'burg, VA

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Marc Phillips

I would plug another tool into the same circuit as your lathe and see if it fluctuates ... just to either identify or eliminate the circuit as the problem...

Since it is a variable speed lathe, my experience with variable speed anything is that it is the switch... If you have access to the back of the switch without getting in over your head you can check for an obvious loose wire back there... and clean it with a good spray electronic cleaner... other than that, hopefully someone else with have more ideas...

DJ2759

Thank you for the suggestion. I should have mentioned in my initial post that I did inspect the switch housing for loose wires and did clean the switch. The circuit is okay and I did try a different one to make sure. All my other tools run fine on it. I'm afraid it has to be a faulty switch unless anyone else has a suggestion.
Thanks again.

Bozz

Dale,

It has been my experience that a variable speed motor plugged into
a GFI outlet will cause the type of problem you are having. My
variable speed scroll exhibits the same kind of behavior when plugged into a GFI outlet. Where I live, it is the building code to have GFI