problems while squaring blanks

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

VotTak

Hi there,
I am very new to this hobby, so sorry for this question.
While I'm trimming blank with tube I use 7mm Basic Barrel Trimmer: Steel Cutter from PSI. It works fine but there is a small piece of brass which is not being trimmed. Is there some tool to remove that excess? Currently I'm trying to remove it by using drill bit or knife, but it should be something better.
Thanks.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

TonyL

Hi. It would help if we can see a picture. Is the excess brass protruding from the blanks material or is it inside the tube itself?

wyone

hmmm when I use the barrel trimmer ( I mostly sand anymore) I never cut into the brass. It takes some practice and a light touch, but the blank should be basically even with the end of the brass without removing any of the brass. I do it very lightly and check often until I basically get a POLISH on the brass, but without actually cutting into it. Once I see the trimmer has touched and polished the brass, I am done. I admit I probably check more often than most, but I want to make sure not to alter the overall length of the tube or the pen. With some click type pens, the length can be critical.

I switched to sanding when I had an issue with chipping out some blanks that I made out of various items for the PITH contests. I do not regret that change at all. I feel that I get a much better fit and finish on my pens with by sanding. Just my experiences, but I am sure others will vary. :)

VotTak

Let me be more specific. It only happened twice as when I'm trimming blanks I check very often and as soon as I see brass I stop. But It happened to me that I moved drill press and did not put working lamp on place and I trimmed slightly more into the brass itself. And I saw internal wall of brass is being higher than the cut.