Problems With Live Center

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
I am looking forward to starting to turn between centers and I purchased some centers from John, a member here, who has been more then helpful in assisting me through the transition from the mandrel to a better method. If you are considering buying centers I definitely recommend John and would definitely buy from him again.

I am having a bit of trouble getting my old live center, the stock one from Jet, off my tail stock. I know you are supposed to bring the center in quickly and it should force the old one off. This is not working with my lathe.

I also tried to tap the thing off with another piece of metal and it took off the actual center's head off and left the other part behind.

I am looking for advice on how I should get this thing off my lathe.

Moderators: This is my first attempt to post pictures to this site so please, if I did it wrong, let me know. I am not sure exactly how I was supposed to post them and I didn't want to post full sized images so I went with thumbnails.

Thanks in advance.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

cowchaser

Should just be able to retract it (make sure lock screw is loose) all the way back into the tailstock and it will pop out. It does take a little bit of umph. When your tailstock wheel stops turning easily just give it some more pressure and it should pop out.

Should just be able to retract it (make sure lock screw is loose) all the way back into the tailstock and it will pop out. It does take a little bit of umph. When your tailstock wheel stops turning easily just give it some more pressure and it should pop out.

This is the method described in the manuel, and it is not working. Are you suppose to loosen the lock screw enough to where the quill spins around freely or just enough to where it can retract?

Any help appreciated.

lwalden