A problem I haven't had in a long time.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Wood Butcher

Local Chapter Leader
I have been making pens for about 15 years and thought I was past this. Yesterday I spent several hours gluing up laminated blanks using different burls , guitar pickguard and corian. I've done this a lot without any issues. In the past I have turned with a mandrel and bushings but a few months ago I went to turnimg between centers. Today I blew up three out of four that I worked with. I have noticed that when drilling on the lathe, I get some wobble of the bit and thus the hole os a little oversized, not much, just a little. After the blow-ups I examined the part still on the tube and saw that there were small gaps or voids where the thick CA didn't fill the gap. Should I go to epoxy for gluing in the tubes? Are any of you getting the wobble I mentioned? Am I maybe putting too much pressure on the live center when mounting the blank for turning? This is frustrating enough I needed to get out of the shop before I blow up all of the ones I put together. Any suggestions will be appreciated. Thanks
WB

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

ldb2000

I use epoxy now to glue all my tubes . I coat both the inside of the blank and the outside of the tube . You can do the same with thick CA to avoid the gaps . You might think that the polyurethane glues like Gorilla will fix this problem but it is a false sense of security . The foam that fills the gaps has NO structural strength , think of it like Styrofoam , not very strong .
As for the wobble , check your bits , I have only seen this on cheap bits . The cheap bit are very seldom perfectly straight .
One last thing , sharpen your tools . The main cause for blowing up blanks is having to press too hard to get the tool to cut .

Dalecamino

Local Chapter Leader