Possible first blank failure

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

keithncsu

Soooo I may have screwed up my first attempt at a pen from the start. Looking for input or confirmation that I messed up haha! First mistake I think I made was not cutting the blank to tube size first. I tried drilling the entire length but of course the bit wasn't long enough. Flipped it around and hoped for the best. Everything looked good until I cut it in two. Noticed the hole got a little oblong near the middle. I decided to go ahead and glue the tubes in since it's my first try. I mean I'll probably screw up while turning anyway right?

Am I going to have a disaster with an oblong hole or is it just a learning experience?

This site has been a tremendous help already so any help is most appreciated.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

More4dan

Most pens I've turned leaves a very thin section of the blank at the ends. You may cut into the glue if the hole has slop in it. If you mess up just turn all the way down to the brass and get another blank. Its how we learn.

mark james

IAP Collection, Curator
Hi Keith:

If you could show a picture, we can give better suggestions. Beyond that - EVERY pen you turn will be a learning experience. I used to take notes for my first pens (never read the notes...) but it did help to somewhat organize my thoughts as I made mistakes and learned how to compensate/correct.

Rest assured; the second 50 pens will be much better than the first 50!

Welcome to IAP!

mecompco

Keith, is the blank wood? If so, plug your tubes and goop the epoxy in to fill any voids and I think it will work. If not, as above, turn off the wood and glue and give it another go. If it's acrylic, it might not turn out so well as the glue can show through translucent blanks.