position of the clip on a Snakeskin pen

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

mick

Got a quick question and Connie's not here to answer me(or tell me what to do)...lol
I just finished a snakeskin Statesman and altho I've done lots of snakeskin pens I've never done one as a full sized Statesman before. It's a big ol honkin' piece of Skin!

My question is since it's such a big blank there's a lot of the paler coloring on this skin. I'm guessing its the "sides" of the skin as the pattern tapers off before you get to the belly scales.Normally on the smaller style pens the pattern wraps almost all the way around the pen.

If it were you putting this pen together would you locate the clip over the seam, in the middle of the paler area without much pattern or over the center of the most figured part, placing the plain pale part in the back of the pen?

Just looking for opinions before I press the finial into place.
Thanks folks

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
That would all hinge upon the prominence of the seam. If its not too unsightly, I'd be inclined to place the clip over the pale area; if the seam is prominent, I'd probably place the clip over it. Just my opinion, though.

its_virgil

I struggle with this question with each snake skin pen I make. If you are making your own try to use the widest skin sections for the larger pens. But, back to your question, I usually place the clip to the immnediate right or left of top side and lately I've started placing the clip directly over the blotches on the prairie rattlesnake skins, especially on the caps of the larger pens.
do a good turn daily!
Don
Originally posted by mick
<br />Got a quick question and Connie's not here to answer me(or tell me what to do)...lol
I just finished a snakeskin Statesman and altho I've done lots of snakeskin pens I've never done one as a full sized Statesman before. It's a big ol honkin' piece of Skin!