Polyester Resin Pen Problem

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Aphidrider

I just turned my first Polyester Resin pen. I cast the resin with a 7mm tube glued into a carbon fiber sleeve. The turning went great and the parts looked perfect....then I tried to set the pen parts in the tube.

As I was setting the chassis into its tube, the resin "broke away" from the carbon fiber sleeve. The resin did not break or crack it just separated from the sleeve so you could see the silvery separation from the sleeve and the resin.

Any ideas and how to prevent this? The only thing I can think of is I was using some replacement 7mm tubes and not the exact ones that came with the pen kit itself. Is it possible all 7mm tubes are not created equal and I was trying to fit a chassis into a tube that was too small, causing the tube to expand and break away from the resin?

Any ideas or help would be greatly appreciated.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Not a subject that I'm an expert in. I do know that some brittle materials can crack and break when the parts are pushed in. Sometimes it helps to ream the ends a little larger and use locktite to hold the parts in.

bruce119

OK...I've have seen this many times...there are a few causes...the silvery effect you see is separation from the resin probably to the carbon fiber. I have not done much Carbon Fiber (C.B.), it can be a bit tricky, I will give some tips that mite help???

My big question is how did you prepare the tube and adhere the C.F. to it.
Did you paint the tube, did you scuff the tube for better adhesion or just slip the C.B. over it.