Please advise: 1 or more mandrels (buying soon)

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jimmyb

Hi all, I'm Jim.
I'll be posting an intro in the other section later, but have a pressing question I need to ask, so I can finish buying what I need :bulgy-eyes:

As you might have guessed, I'm very new to penmaking - lathe i still in the box (just got it on sale). This is a bare-bones setup... just a mini Mastercraft lathe, little sander etc... I come from a blade-making background, so I guess I'm going to find out which is mightier (pen/sword, haha)

Anyway, I know this has been asked a few different ways, but please humor me - I have read the other posts.

I have a Morse Taper #1 Lathe.
I want to make all different pens, slim, fat cigars, mix-match etc...

I know Penstate etc... have 1-Mandrel for all (well MT1 or 2, but no "A" and "B" needed).

But others, like my local Lee Valley Tools, require not only MT1 or 2 Mandrels, but those "A" or "B" ones too depending on the pen kit.

I understand (I think), that basically you have to either buy your Mandrel, Bushings and Kits from ONE STORE OR THE OTHER because the bushings are different if A & B are in the mix.

OR am I wrong?

Is it possible to have an MT1 (7mm) Mandrel and bushings, and still get a Pen Kit from something needing "B" Mandrel ???

I'm not suggesting mixing Bushings and Mandrels -- I mean, will the HARDWARE for the pen itself be the same for ALL kits, whether it's a MT1 mandrel or an A or B mandrel kit ?

Does that make sense?

If I understand it right, a Cigar Pen Kit will have the SAME SIZED Pen Tip, Endcap, Tubes whether it's from PSI or from Lee Valley etc... it's just the Mandrel & Bushing sets that are different, right?

Can someone agree or Correct me in baby-steps :biggrin:

I don't want to buy any mandrel, bushings or kits til I understand correctly -- I'm on a SERIOUS BUDGET (any mistakes really cut in)

Thanks all.
And thanks for this Forum !!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Smitty37