Platings

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

PenPauli

I have been making pens for about 2 years now. I am aware of the plating wearing off on low end pens. However I was at a show last week and a customer who purchased a jr. statesman from me about a year ago showed me his pen, it was a platinum or silver plating I don't remember. I only purchase higher end platings, and was shocked when I saw how bad the finish had worn off. He said he uses it everyday. Is this common, I don't see or talk to many of the people I sell pens to but was very disappointed to see this expensive pen so worn. I usually use black ti or gold ti, and was told these also will wear through. I hope this hasn't happend to many of my other customers. Can someone let me know which plating are the most durable, and have you seen this before?

Thanks for all the info

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Malainse

Paul,

I would contact CSUSA about the finish on the Jr. Statesmanand see what they have to say...

From there web site

"The stunning blend of colored insets and accent band combined with brilliant Rhodium plated components make the Jr. Statesman II a distinctive pen of unrivalled beauty. Guaranteed for a lifetime."
http://www.woodturnerscatalog.com/cgi-bin/shopper?preadd=action&key=050-2325

jttheclockman

Penpauli brings up a good point and I too would like to hear from all you pen turners that have been making these high priced pens. Are these just show pens and are not for everyday use??? What are some of the best kits and platings out there??? When you answer have you done any background check on them?? Just because it has a high price doesn't make it a highend pen. Very interesting question.

Originally posted by jttheclockman