"plastic" vs. wood help

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jeweler53

4240 Wellington Loop SE, Lacey, WA, 98503
I am a lifelong woodworker. I know wood, and I love using it, so it was natural for me to make pens out of it. Now people want to buy my pens. :monkey:

They even want pens out of "plastic". Is there a thread or post that will help me get started in picking a "beginner" blank.

What turns easiest? What is hardest? (among the brands/types of plastics)

Anybody have some cutoffs or practice blanks? (I would be happy to pay postage.)

My wife wants a "purple" pen. :frown: Dyed wood is not an option. (I already tried Purpleheart and was informed "That is NOT purple."

THANKS!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Whaler

I am a lifelong woodworker. I know wood, and I love using it, so it was natural for me to make pens out of it. Now people want to buy my pens. :monkey:

They even want pens out of "plastic". Is there a thread or post that will help me get started in picking a "beginner" blank.

Anybody have some cutoffs or practice blanks? (I would be happy to pay postage.)

My wife wants a "purple" pen. :frown: Dyed wood is not an option. (I already tried Purpleheart and was informed "That is NOT purple."

THANKS!

I think I can help you out with a few blanks. I'll check the shop later and PM you.
Acrylic blanks aren't that hard to do. Sharp tools, go slow and light cuts the same with drilling sharp bits and back out every half inch or so to clear the bit.
You might spend a little time in the library here there is a ton of good information.

Lenny

Maple, or other light colored wood + purple food coloring. Turn to size, sand, apply food coloring to desired shade. Apply finish of choice ... i.e. CA glue for me. Micromesh and polish with method of choice .... Novus 2 and Meguires PlastX for me.

PenMan1