Pink Ivory Blemishes

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm a newbie who was spoiled by a gorgeous pink ivory blank I got from Woodturningz a couple of months ago. It had straight grain and an even, deep pink color. The last couple of orders, totaling 13 blanks or so, have had a number of blemishes in them. I'm referring to small black knots or long (1" or so) black streaks.

While I don't fault the supplier as these blemishes don't appear until the blanks have been turned well past round, my question has to do with the desirability of the pen made from these blanks. Is it just me, or would most people be put off by these blemishes? Would anyone buy such a pen?

I'd appreciate your thoughts.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

leehljp

Member Liaison
I have seen beautiful PI pens posted here and have ordered 2 to 4 blanks at a time from different sources as people on here recommend. I have about 12 and all are exactly like you mentioned. I have yet to get a great all pink blank, so I just gave up on that.

I have a PI "cross" about 2 1/2 by 3 inches given to me by one of my daughters. It is beautiful and deep pink. I have not been able to acquire that kind of blank. It seems that I always get the "left overs" on my orders. And being so far a way, I know a replacement will not be free.

jeffj13

IMHO, it is the blemishes that make the pen. One color, straight grain wood is boring.

I had a forum buddy who used to say that "blemishes on wood were like a beauty mark on a woman".

jeff

CrazyBear

I have to admit that I also look for knots and blemishes as that is what makes our pens stand out from the factory produced ones. I try to make my pens as colourful or as interesting as possible.

That said

If that is what you like then keep looking. I Think that if you find what you are looking for it will be down to luck.

By the way ... welcome to the forum Michael

leehljp

Member Liaison