Pencil Lead Sizes

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Sawzall

Is there a cross reference list anywhere that tells you what size each type of pencil kit uses? I am new to this hobby/business but have jumped in with both feet. I have a customer that wants a pencil with a specific size lead as that is what she has always used. I have several different pencil kits from different places (Rockler/PSI/Berea/Woodcraft)but I have not looked up the refill sizes for each one. Just wodering if there is a reference chart somewhere or do I need to look up each one seperately?

Tim

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Nellieteach

Here is an incomplete list that I have made. I do not know how accurate my info is since most is from reading the resellers' pencil descriptions. If there is a blank after the pencil kit name, it is because I didn't find/see the size or have not made the pencil to know what size lead it uses. Suffice it to say, after looking at the list most use a 0.7mm lead.
Nadine Nelson

Attachments

• Pencil Lead Sizes.pdf
    34.6 KB · Views: 385

Allenk

Thanks, Nadine. I'm putting that in my info file.
Tim, I just copied this from the previous post about Pencil Leads:
Leads are available in (softest) 9B 8B 7B 6B 5B 4B 3B 2B B HB F H 2H 3H 4H 5H 6H 7H 8H 9H (hardest).
My only problem is that I don't know where they are available.

Last edited:

Smitty37

Passed Away Mar 29, 2018
In Memoriam
Most stationary stores carry leads for pencils - in different hardnesses and sizes. If not you can probably find them online.
Also you might look at suppliers who cater to drafting folks. Where I worked the draftsmen always seemed to have a half a dozen or so different hardnesses.

nava1uni