Pen Starter Kit Yes or No?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

rnfuller

Ok, here is the deal. I am just getting started, and have ordered a lathe and it is on the way.

My question is, Should I:

a) Buy one of the many starter kits for sale that have, mandrel, kits, blanks, bushings, glue, turning tools, etc.

or
b) Piecemeal everything I need to get started making slimline pens to get my feet wet?

c) some other option.

Thanks your your help

Randy

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

bking0217

When I first started, I looked at starter kits. It seemed (to me, at least) that all of them had at least a couple things I didn't need and lacked things I did need that I would still have to buy, requiring more money. I ended up just buying what I needed individually and spent, I believe, the same amount of money and got only what I needed.

lorbay

I would go with (b) I did the option (a) when I started and if I knew then what I know now I would have gone with (b).
You don't get the best of parts when it's in a bundle.

Lin.

ryvnd2001

Set Up kit

Just turn between centers....you'll never even think of using a mandrel! Also, the woodchuck pro might be the most versatile tool you could buy!

omb76