Pen Request

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

PacePens

Hello, I am new to this forum so please go easy on me. I have a request from a very good (and wealthy) customer for solid gold fittings on his pens. I cannot find any and since we all know how soft solid gold can be, I can't imagine finding a solid gold clip. Do you have any suggestions? I have been turning for about 2 years but only have about 200+ pens to my credit. I don't fear the quality but this fella will need to leave a deposit. Thanks,
Brett:)

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

gerryr

You don't really have any options, unless you want to buy 500-1000 kits from China to your specifications. That might get pretty expensive for just one customer. When he says solid gold I would guess he doesn't mean pure gold, which would be pretty useless in the clip. The technical requirement for something be to be solid gold is that it be at least 50% pure gold. Anything 12K or higher is technically and legally solid gold. 10K "gold" is not really gold since only 10/24 of it is actually gold. Bruce Boone probably knows more about this than I do, but I think 18K is about where it starts becoming too soft to be usable for things that are under tension.

The best you can do is Gold Titanium plating, unless you want to try making your own fittings out of 14k or 18K gold, which would not be easy and would still be very expensive.

And welcome to the madness.[:p]

Dario

WELCOME!!!

(sorry can't help you w/ a source). Most expensive pens I've seen are gold "filled" which is similar to plating but much much thicker. I bet that is the way to go atleast for the clip. Good luck!

Randy_

I suspect that you are out of luck. I doubt that you are likely to find over-the counter gold parts for crafting pens. You might see if there is a craft guild in your area that has some jewelry makers. They might be willing to cast some parts for you??