Pen Mill Selection

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Brandon25

Hello all. For my first post besides the introduction, I realize this could get controversial if people wanted to stray from the actual subject. Apologies in advance.

I'm new to turning, and have only done about 7 pens. My question is about the pen mill with 4 blades vs. the one with 5 blades. I saw an ad for Pioneer Woodcrafts and found a sale there for a pen mill with 5 blades. I wanted to check shipping costs and there was a problem, so I called Mark and he said it was some issue with the browser being internet explorer. At any rate, the shipping costs eliminated any savings, so I decided against buying it online. The next day, Mark writes to me saying "thanks for bringing the error to his attention, here's a 50% off coupon for your next purchase."

Very nice of him. This now puts it cheaper again than buying a 4 blade one locally, even with the shipping. However, I seem to remember seeing something about not being able to sharpen the ones that were more than 4 blades very easily. Is this true? I don't have any sharpening apparatus except my grinder, so any help in this area is appreciated. I just don't know if saving a few bucks and ordering from an unproven source online is worth the hassle, especially if the 5 blade mills are more trouble than they're worth.

Thanks in advance for any help you can provide.

Brandon

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

thewishman

I have tried several pen mills, and I have to say that the CSUSA mills are the best I have used. I have not yet tried Nolan's carbide re-tipped mill heads yet.

Chris

IPD_Mrs

Brandon you might want to get on the list for one of Nolan's carbide mills. With that you wont have to worry about sharpening. One mill for $35 to last ayear or 10 at $5 to last a year?

Mike

Brandon25

Originally posted by MLKWoodWorking

Brandon you might want to get on the list for one of Nolan's carbide mills.Mike