Pen mill misshaps

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Dick

Help !!! I am new to pen turning,with a small measure of success so far.
Recently while drilling (spot facing) with tubes glued in to size proper lengths on two blanks sized 5/8 x 5/8 x length of tubes + 1/8 the wood
split apart as the mill face touched the wood.I have had better results when I use 3/4 X 3/4 sized blanks,any suggestions would be much appriciated.Thanks for your great pen turning web site !!
Dick from Nunica
nunicaguy@aol.com

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

alphageek

Former Moderator
Welcome..

Pen mills can be a major source for pain to the beginning turner. Depending on the wood, you could try to soak the ends with CA to help harden it up.. Also some mills are sharper than others. Its a good idea to learn how to sharpen them up (I use a small diamond file on the flat sides)...

InvisibleMan

Definitely soak the ends in thin CA. I forgot last night and had a major chipout. Luckily, it was an intact piece and easy to save. Quick soaking with CA on all ends and no more problems. Well, no problems after I removed myself from the blank.

Rangertrek

Not knocking pen mills; but, I don't have this problem with using a disk sander method. If you have a disk/belt sander, you may want to give it a try. Each turner has their own preferred method. I used a mill until I tried the sander.

bensoelberg

Not knocking pen mills; but, I don't have this problem with using a disk sander method. If you have a disk/belt sander, you may want to give it a try. Each turner has their own preferred method. I used a mill until I tried the sander.

+1 on the disc sander. When I first started I began saving up for a pen mill and used the disc sander until I had saved enough. By the time I had saved enough, I realized that the sander was a much better option.

BKelley