Pen Mill Blank Exploding

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

chuybregts

Hey guys,

So I'm pretty new to this, I have 12 pens under the belt now. In the 26 half blanks that I've trimmed up, I've had 2 blanks essentially explode (one literally, the other just tore really bad).

This happens right as the pen mill starts to kiss the blank.

My question is, when using a pen mill, should i just expect this to happen? or is it likely I'm doing something wrong? (as in, I'm applying too much pressure initially?)

Thanks everyone!

Chris

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Monty

Group Buy Coordinator
Are you using the mill by hand or in a power drill? If you are using a drill, too fast and a catch can result in a blowout.

Jim Smith

I've also had some acrylic blanks shatter when touched with pen mill, especially the more brittle ones Going slowly, taking very small bites and clearing the blades is how I usually avoid it.

Jim Smith

chuybregts

Okay, I use the drill by hand (don't have a drill press yet) but butt it against the work bench. The wood was fairly reasonable (just straight up maple) and was going into the face grain.

I think I must be applying too much pressure to start with, either that or my pen mill is crap and could be sharper? (it's a woodcraft one)

Thanks guys!

jkeithrussell

Lots of different types of blanks will do this with a pen mill. I switched to using my Rigid belt sander with a squaring jig and it has made life a lot easier. Save the pen mill to use by hand to clean up the ends after you've finished the pen.

Skye

Do any of the mill's cutting edges reach beyond the edges of the blank? You know, is it wider on any side than the blank. Sometimes if that's the case, it'll bite into the wood and cause it to chip. If the blank is larger than the 4 cutting edges, then you'll cut a nice hole into the blank with less chipouts.

lwalden