Pen Mill on big fat tubes

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

aksarben

OK, I am still pretty new to this game and I have only made 7 and 8mm kits.

This weekend I wanted to make a Sedona kit, I found that none of my pen mill shafts fit the top tube.

I chucked up the tube in the pen vise and squared it up and it mill fine on the ends.

My problem was the glue that got inside the tube. I had a heck of a time getting that out of there. I picked and scraped at it with a small flat head screw driver.

What to other people do with these odd sized tubes?

Scott

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

toolcrazy

I clean the tubes out with a box knife. I have bushings made that fits each of the sizes that I have come across. I take a 7mm tube and glue some red oak onto it and turn it down to the tube size I need. I have several sizes now that covers just about all the kits out there.

JimGo

1) turn an insert so the pen mill fits inside the blank properly; and
2) use dental wax or a potato to plug the end of the tube before gluing.

I wish I actually did #2 as often as I'd like - when I forget (read: most of the time) I use a countersink bit to clean the edges of the tube, and then I either use a needle file (set from Harbor Freight - about $10) or the edge from a transfer punch (again, Harbor Freight). Not that _I_ never have problems that require the use of the transfer punch, but some of my "friends" have borrowed mine and roughed up the ends. Those sharp ends really get in there well.

oldtoolsniper

I found that the brass rifle and shotgun cleaning brushes take it out pretty darn slick. You want an oversize brush that you have to force thru the tube. I use Sumo glue and rarely do I have to run the brush through more than twice. I don't have any taters growing in my shop and the bore brushes don't rot as fast! [:D]

Walmart sells a pistol cleaning kit for under $5 and the brushes all fit in the handle.

Rmartin