Pen Mill

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Hello I have searched the site but haven't found a answer so here is hoping you all can help. I am new to pen turning and am wondering if it is necessary to buy a pen mill or is there another cheaper way to accomplish this? I would like to know before I go and wreck a pen blank or pen kit. Thank you for any help.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

lwalden

Might not be all that much cheaper, but it's possible to build a jig to use with a stationary disk sander, assuming you have one of those, that can be used to sand the excess material off while keeping the face perpendicular (and who the heck came up with the term perpendicular, anyways!!!) to the tube. Check the library, I'm sure they have an article with plans!

toddlajoie

I'm sure you'll get several conflicting responses, but I'll throw in my 2 cents. Pen mills for me are WAY easier, and faster than using a belt sander, I think they are well worth it for that fact. I have seen other devices for sale on the board here using sanding discs and similar things, and a centering jig for squaring up for the belt/disc sander, but for me the pen mills are just easy, and work VERY well

lwalden

http://content.penturners.org/articles/2005/blanksquaring.pdf

here's the link to the jig. For what it's worth, though, I agree with Todd. I use the pen mills and have multiple heads, that I send to one of the members on this forum (Paul Huffman) for periodic sharpening. I also have a sanding mill (Rherrell sells this in the business classifieds, I believe- http://www.penturners.org/forum/showthread.php?t=62831) that I use after applying my CA finish that does a final touchup and cleans the ends without lifting or marring the CA finish at the ends of the blanks.

Last edited:

aggromere