Pen mandrel question

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Jeff Barnett

So I have been turning pens and small stuff for a couple years and have bent my fair share of mandrels. They all seam to be made from different metals or alloys atc. I started using the mandrel saver from psi and I am really liking it out of all the ones I have tried. I did pick up a pro mandrel from woodcraft that I have yet to try but all I can tell about that one is it has the collete so you can turn one blank at a time. Anyway, I was wondering If I were to buy some spare stock and just cut a new mandrel when I needed one,,,,,,,, what would be the hardest and least likely metal to bend?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

its_virgil

Why are you bending mandrels? There has to be a reason? A couple of reasons may be tightening the tail stock tight into the mandrel end. another is using dull tools and having to push hard against the blank to make the tool cut.

Are you sure they are bent? Are the holes in your bushings concentric with the outer surface of the bushings? Headstock and tailstock out of alignment? Dirty morse taper in the head and/or tailstock?

I use O2 drill rod to make mandrels. I use letter D size. I don't know if O2 drill rod is the hardest and least likely to bend but it works for me...I just don't have problems with bent mandrels especially since I started using the Beall collet chuck to hold them.

Good luck.
Do a good turn daily!
Don