Pen Lathe issues

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Sunami

I am new to pen turning and woodworking in general. I received the basic mini lathe from HF as a gift and upon suggestions from tips group and others upgraded to the HF 10 X 18 lathe. I have only turned two pens on this lathe so far and the tailstock lock lever for the cup center will not lock. Sometimes it may even fall out. How do I fix this? Is it a big deal. I turned one pen without it locking. I am under the 90 day warranty plus I have 1 year extended.

Thanks in advance for your advice.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

qquake

Yes, it's a big deal. You need the tailstock to stay locked to keep tension on the pen mandrel. If it's loose, you can ruin the mandrel, live center, or turn pen bodies out of round. There are instructions for adjusting the tailstock lock on page 13 in the manual:

http://manuals.harborfreight.com/manuals/65000-65999/65345.pdf

Also, if you're using the cup style live center the lathe came with, you'll need to get a 60 degree live center, to properly mate with the threaded end of the mandrel. HF sells one, and most of the pen kit suppliers have them, too. You can also get them from Amazon.

MT2 Live Center

#2MT Live Center - WoodTurningz

Exotic Blanks :: Tools & Lathe Accessories :: Mandrels & Centers :: 60 Degree Live Tailstock Center - choose version

Amazon.com: Atoplee MT2 Live Center Morse Taper Triple Bearing 2 Mt .0002" for High Speed Turning, CNC Work: Home Improvement

Sunami

So I returned it, they didn't have another one in Stock so I got my money back and ordered the Rockler Excelsior. Now the wait begins for it to come in... :-(

Sabaharr