pen blank size?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

Kalai

Hi everyone, I have just joined IAP and I am new to pen turning, I have been turning bowls for about 30 years but just now started turning pens. I have a questions about the size of the pen blanks you folks prefer to use, I noticed there are a lot of different sizes like 1x1x5.5 , 15/16x15/16x6 and even 5/8x5/8x5, any hepl in this matter would be great. Thanks

Kalai

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Rifleman1776

I doubt there is a 'standard'. But most kits will do fine with a 3/4"X3/4"X5 1.2" blank and that is what most sellers offer. For some larger kits like full sized Gents, Emperors, etc. up to 1"X1"X6" can be a better choice.

Fred

I always try to get my blanks to fit the size of the kit I am using. If I cut my own from stock I will cut them square in regards to the thickness of the board, i.e., 3/4" board = 3/4x3/4" blanks, etc. I do not however like the 1/2" as I never have room to turn them IF the blanks have any type of fault(s), knot holes, cracks, etc. Most of the wood will become shavings so I figure why waste all the wood! [:D]

Check out our library, there are answers to questions you didn't even think about yet.

BTW - Welcome to IAP

http://www.penturners.org/forum/forum.asp?FORUM_ID=45

also

http://www.penturners.org/content/BuildingOnTheBasics.pdf

mrcook4570

It really depends on how accurate your drill setup is, and how much confidence you have in its repeatability. A 3/4x3/4 blank is big enough for a gent/emperor and a 5/8x5/8 blank is more than sufficient for a baron. You can even get by with a 3/8x3/8 blank for a slim.

Rudy Vey