Pen blank hole oversized problem

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
I am a newbie at pen turning and am in the process of getting my pen blanks drilled on my drill press. I purchased a starter kit from Amazon.com which included a 7mm drill bit for use on the blanks. I placed the bit in my drill press and ensured that it was square and drilled out several blanks. When I put the tubes in the blanks, it seems as if the holes are slightly oversized and I am concerned about the CA glue will not properly adhere the tube to the blank due to the slight space around the tube. I'm not sure if I'm doing something wrong to cause the hole to be slightly oversized. It's a 7mm bit and the kits I bought are 7mm kits. Thanks.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

David M

what are you drilling / wood or acrlic. if plastic it could be getting to hot , melting . drill at slower speed and clear bit often. if wood is the hold bigger at one end ( Exit end ) ? could it have been tightened off center ? how are you holding the blank ?

ed4copies

Local Chapter Manager
If you use thick or medium CA, it will fill pretty good size gaps.

Welcome to IAP and welcome to pen-turning!!

Ed

randyrls

Scott; While the instructions may call for a 7mm bit, often the best fit will be slightly smaller. A 115 piece drill bit set is a good investment. I often drill 7mm blanks with an "I" letter bit. It is just a few thousandths smaller. Clamp the blank solidly to the drill press table and drill, then try the tube. If too small, use the next size larger.

The drill bits specified on instruction pages are the closest commonly available sizes, not the best fit. I have a 12.3mm drill bit for one of my most used size pen kits.

There are several drill size charts in the IAP library.