Paper pen blanks

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

ds_1899

Hi-
I've been turning pens for a couple of years, but this is my first post on this site.

I had a crazy idea this morning in bed while I was waking up and wanted to know if anyone has tried it or thought of it before.

My thought was to glue up layers of construction paper to be the thickness of a pen blank and then preparing it and turning it like wood. I figured the glue would add enough stability to the paper to turn it and that you'd be able to get some really cool color layers by gluing paper up.

I'm interested in people's thoughts on this and if the consensus is that it will work, I may try it.

Hope you're all doing well

Dan

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Paul in OKC

Originally posted by ds_1899
<br />Hi-
I've been turning pens for a couple of years, but this is my first post on this site.

I had a crazy idea this morning in bed while I was waking up and wanted to know if anyone has tried it or thought of it before.

My thought was to glue up layers of construction paper to be the thickness of a pen blank and then preparing it and turning it like wood. I figured the glue would add enough stability to the paper to turn it and that you'd be able to get some really cool color layers by gluing paper up.

I'm interested in people's thoughts on this and if the consensus is that it will work, I may try it.

Hope you're all doing well

Dan

Tubes are cheap, go for it and show us how it's done[:D]. One thing I try to do is never think an idea may not work until trying it. I'd so a slim line for starters and see what happens. Sounds like a neat thing to do.
Oh yeah, welcome to the insanity!

JimGo

Welcome!!!

I'd probably skip the slimline and do the Sierra - only one blank to prepare! Otherwise, it sounds like it could be interesting.

jtate