Painting tubes and inside blanks?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

handplane

I have done a few acrylic pens and have painted the tubes only before gluing in the tube. On couple of the pens the paint seemed to come loose from the tube. I only noticed this during the finishing process when I felt a bump that should not have been there. It looked like the blank was coming loose in small sections. I was able to fix it by soaking the ends in CA and letting it sit. I know the paint was dry before I assembled things but am not sure what made it come apart. What did I do wrong? Should I paint the inside of the blank and not the tube? I'm still learning.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Wheaties

That's what I do: Paint the inside of the blank with Testors and use CA to glue it up. Haven't had any problems yet!

Rstyleusa

I have just ventured into the Acrylic pens, only turned 3 so far. I have not noticed the paint coming off the brass tube yet. I do rough up the brass tube before I paint it, then when I glue it into the blank I do it quickly without turning the brass tub to seat it, just push it in gently. Another thing is look to see if you can get already colored tubes for your pens. I have some sets that already come in white or titanium colors. After I square up the blank I seal it with some more CA on the ends (then square it again if necessary to clear out any remaining CA). I think the biggest thing is to rough up the brass tube before paints so the paint has a rough surface to stick to.

Funny thing is that I never though of painting the inside of the blank, that would definately work too!

Last edited:

omb76